//
estás leyendo...
Internacional

10 Things I Like About Bernie Sanders

By Adam J. Diemar

I guess I like Bernie Sanders because I am from Vermont and I began to like him without knowing much about him. I guess I thought that he was pure, that he was falling all the time on the right side of the issues, that he had humanities’ interest in mind. The more I have learned about Bernie, the more I like him as a candidate. His campaign is from what I have seen is supported by the people, and not the big corporations. Bernie does not appear to me to be a sellout. He appears genuine, but the media has not given Bernie his fair share of publicity.

fa606cc714001982429155b53e014497(Photo from The Daily Dot.”Bernie Sanders woos the Internet with 2016 presidential run”. April 8th. http://www.dailydot.com/politics/bernie-sanders-2016-candidacy-hillary-clinton-challenger/)

Bernie has not had his chance on the television. The media was portraying Bernie’s campaign as a long shot, and that he should bow out. Bernie rallies were happening all over, and the media had very little coverage of his support. Bernie’s supporters have relied on social media to keep themselves informed and to research and campaign in that way.

What does Bernie stand for? Well, what I have gathered is that he believes that the big corporations and the big government are working together to protect each other. Bernie says that the working class is getting bigger and bigger and poorer and poorer, and the people at the top are getting so rich. Bernie would like to take the country back from the rich.

I like Bernie’s white hair with his bald spot on his head that he pulls off so well.

Bernie says that the big corporations are catching tax breaks and are sending their jobs overseas, which is allowing them to take jobs away from the citizens of the US and pay people in other countries a wage that is not fair, all while evading taxes and making money hand over fist in their business. One of Bernie’s assertions is that we look to find alternative energy to fossil fuels. It seems that the other candidates do not care so much about this issue as Bernie does. Bernie feels a moral obligation to make sure that the planet is here for future generations.

Some of the other candidates are taking contributions from big fossil fuel companies but Bernie has turned down these monies because Bernie is one candidate that I have yet to see be corrupted. Bernie has many years experience in politics and he seems to take the view that is most humanitarian, even if his ideas are not popular at the time.

Bernie stands for what is right. For example with climate change, it would be easy to turn a blind eye to the fact that 2015 was the hottest year ever recorded in the history of the earth, and to accept money from big oil, but Bernie has spoken out against them calling for another alternative. Many support Bernie, and his average contribution is 27 dollars, which speaks to the fact that he has many supporters and many hands make light work. He also has stood against money involved in politics, which was revolutionary at the time he proposed it.

When Bernie was asked about spirituality, his altruistic answer was “I believe that, as a human being, the pain that one person feels, if we have children who are hungry in America, if we have elderly people who can’t afford their prescription drugs, you know what, that impacts you, that impacts me,” Sanders said. “And I worry very much about a society where some people spiritually say, ‘It doesn’t matter to me. I got it, I don’t care about other people.’ So my spirituality is that we are all in this together and that when children go hungry, when veterans sleep out on the street, it impacts me. That’s my very strong spiritual feelings“(Policy.mic. “Bernie Sanders: My Spirituality Is That We Are All in This Together”April 8th, 2016. http://mic.com/articles/134326/bernie-sanders-my-spirituality-is-that-we-are-all-in-this-together#.mUHWq8yFa)

517617356-bird-lands-on-democratic-presidential-candidate-bernie-crop-promo-xlarge2(Photo courtesy of The Slatest. “Watch Portland Crowd Go Wild When Bird Interrupts Bernie Sanders Rally” April 8th, 2016. http://www.slate.com/blogs/the_slatest/2016/03/26/tiny_bird_steals_the_show_at_bernie_sanders_rally_in_portland.html )

Bernie would like to make college free, so that anyone who works hard can have a chance to be educated, as well as to raise the minimum wage so that there are jobs that people can support themselves on. Bernie has said over and over that anybody that works a 40-hour workweek should not live in poverty.  Bernie has very often and very publicly used the Walton’s who own Wal-Mart as a talking point on this. If Bernie has done anything for me personally, he has got me interested in politics to a person that has never cared much about these big social questions and issues. Bernie has begun a social and political revolution. People are waking up to the greed at the top. The media wont show you this as it is against their interest, but if one pays attention, you might see Bernie fighting for the millions of US citizens who do not have a voice. In my estimation, he represents the good people of the bottom of the country who are being exploited by the billionaire class. He has my vote, and I feel I have an obligation and that it would be a shame if I didn’t share my views about Bernie with others.

Acerca de Mente legal

Proyecto de divulgación y promoción activista por un México más informado y con VISIÓN legal. ¿Quieres opinar y/o contribuir con este espacio? CONTÁCTANOS!!!

Comentarios

Aún no hay comentarios.

Responder

